Skip to main content
Eli Tribe TEAM
Customer Support Manager at Tribe
Asked a question 2 years ago

How to create a group? How to edit an existing group?

Where am I?

In Tribe you can ask and answer questions and share your experience with others!

Eli Tribe TEAM
Customer Support Manager at Tribe

The group app is installed in your community by default. If you don't need this feature, simply uninstall it from Admin Panel> App> search for Group app> Uninstall: 

Install/Uninstall Group
Install/Uninstall Group

 

If you want to keep the Group functionality to be enabled, do the basic settings from Admin Panel> under App Settings on the left menu, search for Group, and click on it. 

Within groups settings, you can rename "Groups" to "Channels", "Rooms", "Cities", or anything else that matches your use-case.

You can also define who can create a group inside your community: Only Admins, Moderators, or all Members. 

Do Group Settings
Do Group Settings

 

When the "Groups" app is installed, you can create a new group using the [+] button on the top-right of the home-page:

Create a New Group
Create a New Group

 

Create a New Group
Create a New Group

 

Now, you can define a name, description, upload profile picture, upload banner picture, define the privacy of the group (public/private/secret15), enable the notification for groups13 by clicking on the checkbox, and click on the create button. 

If you do not have a banner picture, you can use the "Color" section to add a simple color in the banner area. You can either type down the name of the color "e.g. Green" or add the color code with the # sign to the beginning of it (e.g. #231056):

Create a New Group
Create a New Group

 

If you are an admin, you can edit a group's name, picture, description, etc. Go to that group's page> click on the [...] button> Edit> make the changes> and click on Save: 

Edit Existing Group
Edit Existing Group

 

To delete a group, go to that group's page> click on the (...) button on the top right> click on the "delete group".  

WARNING: Please be advised that by deleting a group all the contents and information inside that group will be deleted as well. 

Once you have your groups created, you can go to the "Group App" setting and pick the default groups15, where you want all your community members automatically be a part of.

 

Still have a question about groups? Please check this Q&A page27