There are 3 different types of groups that you can create in your community: Public, Private, and Secret.
1. Public groups are accessible for all community members, and anyone from the community can view the content before joining that group. Joining a public group does not require any approval. Public groups are also visible on the "all groups" page.
The content from a "public" group will be displayed to everyone on any "topic" page.
2. Private groups on the other hand show the posts only to their group members. Joining a private group requires approval from the group admin, group moderator, or the community admin. Private groups are also visible on the "all groups" page.
3. Secret groups are like private groups, with this difference that they are not listed on the "all groups" page. So users cannot know about the existence of a secret group unless they are added to the group. The only way to join a secrete group is to be added by the group admin, group moderator, or the community admin.
NOTE: A user "cannot" see a post from a group on the "homepage", unless the user is part of the group. This applies to all different types of groups mentioned above.
How Tribe generated each feed? You can learn more here. 26
Still have a question about the "Group" app? Please check this post21.